Investiture Ceremony Held for Elected Officials

The annual investiture ceremony for the individuals elected during the May 2018 General Primary/Nonpartisan Election and November 2018 General Election was held on Friday morning, December 29, at the Coffee County Courthouse.

Those who took their oaths of office on Thursday morning included: Superior Court Judge Dwayne Gillis and Superior Court Judge Jeffrey Kight; Solicitor-General Katherine (Katy) Paulk; County Commissioner District 1 Oscar Paulk and County Commissioner District 3 A.J. Dovers; School Board District 1 Tonya Wilkerson, School Board District 2 Jesse Jowers, and School Board District 4 Bryan Preston.

Wilkerson was the only newly elected official to be sworn in. Probate Judge Beverly Johns told Wilkerson, “You now have a new family of elected officials, and we welcome you into this family.”

Judge Kelly Brooks was in attendance and commended the officials for serving. “Out of all the counties in my district, Coffee County does the best job when it comes to uniting; that’s what makes you succeed in industrial development. You may have disagreements, but you keep them as a family, and that is what makes you so successful. It is a selfless act to serve, and I commend you all for each one of your positions. These jobs are sacrificial but rewarding.”

All will officially begin their four-year terms on Tuesday, January 1, 2018.

The Douglas Enterprise

P.O. Box 750
Douglas, Georgia 31534

Phone: (912) 384-2323
Fax: (912) 383-0218