Article Image Alt Text

Bryan Preston

Article Image Alt Text

Reagan Miller

Preston Named BOE Chairman For 2018

The Coffee County Board of Education held their first work session and regular meeting of 2018 last Thursday, January 18, and District 4 board member Bryan Preston was selected to serve as the Board Chairman for 2018. The board also announced they received a grant totaling more than $80,000 that will be used for technology upgrades for high school students.
Preston, who served as Vice Chairman last year, was approved by his fellow board members to serve as Chairman for the year. This is Preston’s second stint as Board Chairman. He takes over as chairman for District 2 board member Jesse Jowers.
District 3 board member Reagan Miller was approved to serve as the Board Vice Chair for 2018. She was not in attendance due to an illness.
The board unanimously approved its monthly consent agenda, which included the monthly financial report, a grant award, three out of state travel requests (two to Jacksonville, Florida, and one to Troy, Alabama), and minutes from past meetings.
The monthly financial report that was approved included a fund balance of $15,071,818.86, which puts the board in a “good financial position,” according to Superintendent Dr. Morris Leis.
Leis commented, “We are proud to be in a good financial position when compared to previous years. We aren’t quite where we want to be just yet, but we are getting closer.”
As for the grant award, Dr. Leis announced the Coffee County School System was recently awarded a Connections Classroom Grant, totaling $84,800. Leis said the board will use the technology grant to purchase 450 Chrome Books for high school students in grades 9-12 that will be utilized in the classroom.
The Coffee County Board of Education will meet again on Thursday, February 22, at 5:30 and 7:30 p.m.

The Douglas Enterprise

P.O. Box 750
Douglas, Georgia 31534

Phone: (912) 384-2323
Fax: (912) 383-0218