Qualifying Concludes For Upcoming Ambrose, Nicholls Elections

Luke Roberts
Enterprise Staff Writer
Qualifying for the upcoming municipal elections in Ambrose and Nicholls was held earlier this week at the Coffee County Elections Office, with seven individuals qualifying in Ambrose and 13 individuals qualifying in Nicholls. The City of Ambrose will have a new mayor, as Henry Milhollin has decided to step aside to “focus on family and other interests,” though he insists he will still be around to “provide advice and guidance” for future Ambrose officials and citizens.
Ambrose councilman Brad Vickers was the lone qualifier for the position of Ambrose Mayor, and he will assume the position on January 1, 2018, as he is unopposed.
As for the council, incumbents Joshua Milhollin, Ali Paulk, Daniel Paulk and Denise Paulk all qualified, along with newcomers Blaine Paulk and Andy Jowers.
In Nicholls, three individuals qualified to run for Nicholls Mayor, those being longtime incumbent Mayor Dewayne Streat, Adrice “Tamon” Frost and Charles Palmer.
As for the Nicholls City Council, all five incumbents, Kathy Streat, Phillip Grady, Thomas “Popeye” Frost, J.D. Anderson, and Charles “Sneaky” Grady, all qualified to seek re-election.
They are joined by newcomers Tracey Darby, Glynn Tanner, David Taylor, Allen Thompson, and Thomas Whitley.
The Enterprise spoke with Henry Milhollin on Friday, August 25, about his decision to step aside as the Mayor of Ambrose, a position he has held for the past eight years. Prior to serving as mayor, Milhollin served for 12 years as a city councilman and two years as the city’s water director.
Milhollin commented, “After 22 years of service, it’s time for me to focus on several other priorities, including my family and grandkids and a new business I’m pursuing. We’ve accomplished so many things in Ambrose over the last eight years, and I believe the city is in a better place now than when we started.
“I’ve got my health - God’s been really good to me. I love Ambrose, will always call Ambrose home, and I will still be around to provide guidance and advice to the council and the city’s citizens. It’s just time for me to focus on other priorities.
“To all the citizens of Ambrose, it’s truly been an honor and a privilege to serve you over the last 22 years.”
Early voting for the two elections will be held at the Coffee County Elections Office from Monday, October 16, through Friday, November 3, from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. The election office is located at 224 West Ashley Street in Douglas.
All citizens in interested in voting in the two elections must register before Monday, October 10.
Anyone wishing to vote absentee by mail must apply to do so before 4:00 p.m. on Friday, November 3.
Anyone with any questions can call the Elections Office at 912-384-7018.

The Douglas Enterprise

P.O. Box 750
Douglas, Georgia 31534

Phone: (912) 384-2323
Fax: (912) 383-0218